Catalogue Number
Release Date
7th April 2017
The Book Of Secrets
Side 1: 1. Prologue / 2. The Mummers' Dance / 3. Skellig / 4. Marco Polo. Side 2: 1. The Highwayman / 2. La Serenissima / 3. Night Ride Across The Caucasus / 4. Dante's Prayer
In celebration of the 20th anniversary of her most successful international recording to date, award-winning Canadian artist Loreena McKennitt is releasing The Book of Secrets Ė a Juno Award nominee for Best Album - in a limited edition 180g pressing of 10,000 copies worldwide. Recognizing the growing public appetite for the sound only vinyl can deliver, this latest release is the 12th high-end audiophile reproduction from McKennittís musical catalogue. 'A good traveller has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving.' - Chinese philosopher Lao Tzuís words are a good introduction to the third album in a trilogy of musical travel documents that began with The Visit. Recorded at Peter Gabrielís Real World studios in England, The Book Of Secrets was written and researched all over the world and, following its release in 1997, would go on to sell several million copies around the globe. The album features a cast of over two dozen musical collaborators, and the eight songs contained therein, including North American hit single 'The Mummersí Dance', leads the listener on unexpected journeys. Follow the music from ancient Byzantium to a puppet-makerís theatre in Sicily, or from the rocky island of Skellig Michael once inhabited by Irish monks in the Dark Ages to Venice and the journeys of Marco Polo, or from the tragic narrative of 'The Highwayman' to the thunder of hooves across the Caucasus and the echoes of Danteís words found, unexpectedly, in a train journey across Siberia.